Walmart gluten-free bread: Sam's Choice reviewed, plus what we could confirm about Great Value
Sam's Choice gluten-free bread is GFCO-certified at about $6.74 for 18 oz. Certification, ingredients, price per ounce, how it stacks up against Canyon Bakehouse, and what Walmart actually lists for Great Value.
Malik

Sam's Choice and Great Value are Walmart's two store brands with gluten-free bread, and they are not equivalent. Sam's Choice Gluten-Free Multigrain and Classic White breads are 18 oz shelf-stable loaves that carry the GFCO certification mark (under 10 ppm) and sell for $6.74 on walmart.com. Great Value's gluten-free line is certified through the Beyond Celiac Gluten-Free Certification Program rather than GFCO, and its sliced gluten-free white bread was not listed on walmart.com when we checked in September 2026, so availability is store-dependent. Below we compare certification, ingredients, and price per ounce, and put both up against Canyon Bakehouse, the GFCO-certified national brand on the same shelf.
Prices checked September 2026 and vary by store.
Key takeaways
- Sam's Choice gluten-free bread is GFCO certified (under 10 ppm), which is a stricter standard than the FDA's 20 ppm "gluten-free" label. Independent testers have confirmed the seal on the package and found no detectable gluten with a home sensor.
- Sam's Choice Multigrain lists water, brown rice flour, and tapioca starch as its first three ingredients, with whole grain sorghum, millet, amaranth, teff, and quinoa further down. It contains eggs.
- Sam's Choice costs $6.74 for an 18 oz loaf on walmart.com, about $0.37 per ounce. Canyon Bakehouse Heritage Style Honey White is $7.67 for 24 oz at Walmart, about $0.32 per ounce, so the national brand is actually cheaper per ounce.
- Great Value's gluten-free products use the Beyond Celiac certification program. Its gluten-free sliced white bread has been sold in stores, but it was not on walmart.com in September 2026 and we could not confirm a current price.
- Neither Walmart store brand discloses whether its bread is made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. Canyon Bakehouse does: a dedicated bakery in Johnstown, Colorado.
- All of these breads stale quickly, as most gluten-free bread does. Freezing immediately and toasting individual slices is the best way to keep texture acceptable.
What "gluten-free" actually means on a Walmart bread label
The FDA allows any food labeled "gluten-free" to contain up to 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten. That is the legal floor. GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization) certification is a voluntary, third-party program that requires ingredients and finished products to test under 10 ppm, half the FDA threshold, plus facility audits. Beyond Celiac runs a separate third-party certification program that Walmart uses for the Great Value line. For most people with celiac disease, all of these levels are considered safe, but some highly sensitive individuals prefer the tighter GFCO standard.
When you see the GFCO circle on Sam's Choice bread, you are getting third-party verification at 10 ppm. When you see the Beyond Celiac mark on Great Value, you are getting third-party verification at the FDA level. In both cases Walmart's co-packer, not Walmart itself, is the audited party, and Walmart does not disclose who that is.
Canyon Bakehouse, which Walmart also stocks, is both GFCO certified and made in a dedicated gluten-free facility in Johnstown, Colorado. It is also, per ounce, the cheapest of the three on walmart.com right now. For more on how gluten-free baking works and common pitfalls, see our gluten-free baking guide.
Sam's Choice gluten-free bread: what is in it
Sam's Choice is Walmart's "premium" store brand. Two gluten-free varieties are listed on walmart.com: Gluten-Free Multigrain Bread and Gluten-Free Classic White Bread, both 18 oz, 14 servings per package, shelf-stable with a 365-day shelf life.
First three ingredients (Multigrain): Water, brown rice flour, tapioca starch. Then tapioca syrup, whole grain sorghum flour, xanthan gum, whole grain millet seeds, whole eggs, whole grain millet flour, amaranth, teff, red quinoa, extra virgin olive oil, molasses, salt, cultured rice flour, calcium propionate, palm oil, monoglycerides, yeast, and enzymes. Contains eggs.
Classic White: Also built on brown rice flour, tapioca starch, and whole grain sorghum flour, without the seed blend.
Certification: GFCO certified (under 10 ppm). Walmart's listing says "certified gluten-free" and the GFCO mark appears on the package.
Dedicated facility: Not disclosed. Walmart does not publish the co-packer or facility status for this line.
Price per ounce: $6.74 for 18 oz on walmart.com, about $0.37/oz, for either variety.
Reviewers describe the texture as dense and slightly gummy at room temperature, which is common for rice-flour-based gluten-free breads, and much better toasted. The multigrain version's sorghum, millet, and other whole grains give it a nuttier flavor than the white. If gummy centers are a problem you recognize, that same issue shows up in store-bought loaves that sit on the shelf too long. If you are looking for higher-protein gluten-free bread, Canyon Bakehouse's Heritage Style loaves list 3g per slice, or you can bake your own using protein-boosting methods.
Great Value gluten-free bread: what we could confirm
Great Value is Walmart's budget store brand, and its gluten-free line (flour, pancake mix, pasta, mac and cheese, hamburger buns, tortillas, condensed soups) is certified through the Beyond Celiac Gluten-Free Certification Program. A Great Value gluten-free sliced white bread has been sold in stores and was reviewed by independent testers, who found no detectable gluten with a home sensor.
Certification: Beyond Celiac Gluten-Free Certification Program (third-party, FDA-level 20 ppm). Not GFCO.
Dedicated facility: Not disclosed.
Availability and price: As of September 2026 the sliced bread was not listed on walmart.com, only the Great Value gluten-free hamburger buns and pantry items. If your store stocks it, expect it to undercut Sam's Choice, but we could not confirm a current price, and Walmart reformulates Great Value products periodically, so read the current label.
If fiber matters to you, none of the store-brand loaves are strong on it; adding fiber to homemade gluten-free bread is more effective than relying on store-bought options at this price point.
Side-by-side comparison: Sam's Choice vs Great Value vs Canyon Bakehouse
Here is how Walmart's store brands stack up against Canyon Bakehouse, the most common GFCO-certified brand on Walmart shelves.
| Feature | Sam's Choice Multigrain | Sam's Choice Classic White | Great Value Gluten-Free Bread | Canyon Bakehouse Heritage Style Honey White |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certification | GFCO (under 10 ppm) | GFCO (under 10 ppm) | Beyond Celiac program (under 20 ppm) | GFCO (under 10 ppm) |
| Dedicated GF facility | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Yes, Johnstown, CO |
| First 3 ingredients | Water, brown rice flour, tapioca starch | Brown rice flour, tapioca starch, sorghum flour (order per Walmart listing) | Confirm on package | Water, brown rice flour, tapioca flour |
| Contains eggs | Yes | Confirm on package | Confirm on package | Yes |
| Protein per slice | Not published online | Not published online | Not published online | 3g |
| Price per ounce | About $0.37 ($6.74 / 18 oz) | About $0.37 ($6.74 / 18 oz) | Not listed on walmart.com | About $0.32 ($7.67 / 24 oz) |
| Loaf size | 18 oz | 18 oz | Varies | 24 oz |
| Storage | Shelf-stable, 365-day shelf life | Shelf-stable, 365-day shelf life | Confirm on package | Sold frozen or fresh; freeze after opening |
| Best use | Toasted sandwiches | Toasted sandwiches, French toast | Budget sandwiches | Sandwiches, untoasted okay |
Checked: September 2026
Who should buy Sam's Choice gluten-free bread
Sam's Choice makes sense if you want a GFCO-certified loaf that lives in the pantry rather than the freezer. The 365-day shelf-stable packaging is its real advantage over Canyon Bakehouse: you can keep a backup loaf on the shelf. The multigrain's sorghum and millet add a slightly more complex taste that reviewers say pairs well with savory toppings.
Choose Sam's Choice if:
- You want GFCO certification from a store brand
- You want a shelf-stable loaf you can stock ahead
- You always toast your bread (reviewers call it mediocre untoasted)
- You prefer multigrain flavor over plain white
Who should buy Great Value gluten-free bread
Great Value is the budget pick when your store carries it. If you go through bread quickly, kids' lunches for example, a lower price per ounce adds up over a month. The Beyond Celiac certification means it is third-party verified to the FDA standard, which is enough for most people with celiac disease.
Choose Great Value if:
- Price is your primary concern and your store stocks it
- You plan to toast every slice
- You want neutral white-bread flavor for sandwiches
- FDA-level certification is sufficient for your sensitivity level
Who should skip both and buy Canyon Bakehouse instead
If you have celiac disease and want the tightest available standard, Canyon Bakehouse gives you GFCO certification, a disclosed dedicated gluten-free bakery, and 3g of protein per slice. On walmart.com it is also the cheapest per ounce of the three: $7.67 for a 24 oz loaf, versus $6.74 for 18 oz of Sam's Choice. The trade-off is storage: Canyon Bakehouse is sold frozen or fresh and needs to go in the freezer, while Sam's Choice sits on the shelf for a year.
We are not saying Walmart store brands are unsafe; both are third-party certified. But if you are highly sensitive and want a disclosed facility, the certified option with the dedicated bakery is on the same shelf and costs less per ounce.
How to get the best texture from store-bought gluten-free bread
All of these breads share a common problem: quick staling. Gluten-free bread lacks the gluten network that keeps wheat bread soft over days. Here is what helps:
- Freeze after opening. Shelf-stable loaves like Sam's Choice keep sealed, but once opened, freeze what you will not eat in a day or two. Pull out slices as needed.
- Toast from frozen. Two cycles in a standard toaster: the first defrosts, the second crisps. This gives you the closest thing to fresh texture.
- Do not microwave. Microwaving makes rice-flour bread rubbery within 30 seconds of cooling.
- Store opened loaves in the fridge, not the counter. Counter storage accelerates staling in gluten-free bread faster than in wheat bread because of the high starch content.
If you are frustrated with store-bought texture in general, baking your own gluten-free bread gives you much more control. A basic recipe using brown rice flour, tapioca starch, and a binder like psyllium husk powder (6g per 100g flour blend) can produce a loaf with better crumb and flavor than any of these store brands.
Other gluten-free bread brands at Walmart worth knowing
Sam's Choice and Great Value are not your only options. Here are the other gluten-free bread brands commonly stocked at Walmart, all GFCO certified:
- Canyon Bakehouse: Dedicated facility, wide variety (Heritage Style Honey White, Heritage Whole Grain, Country White, Ancient Grain, Mountain White, Hawaiian Sweet). About $7.50 for the 24 oz Heritage Style Honey White and about $5.50–$6.50 for the 15 oz Country White on walmart.com.
- Schär: European brand with dedicated gluten-free facilities in Europe and Swedesboro, New Jersey; states it tests to under 5 ppm. About $5.00 for the 8.8 oz Deli Style Seeded and about $6.00 for the 14.1 oz Artisan Baker 10 Grains & Seeds on walmart.com.
- Udi's: GFCO certified. About $5.00 for the 12 oz White Sandwich Bread on walmart.com (sold frozen).
Checked: September 2026
For more detail on each of these brands, see our gluten-free bread brands list.
A note on "made in a shared facility"
Neither Sam's Choice nor Great Value discloses its co-packing arrangements publicly. "Made in a facility that also processes wheat" is a voluntary advisory statement; the FDA does not require it. The absence of that warning does not guarantee a dedicated facility. It just means the manufacturer chose not to include it.
For celiac shoppers, this ambiguity is the core issue. A bread can be certified under 10 ppm and still be produced on shared lines that are cleaned and tested between runs; GFCO audits that process, but the certification does not require a dedicated building. Whether that level of risk is acceptable depends on your individual sensitivity. If you have had reactions to certified products from undisclosed facilities before, stick with brands that name their dedicated bakery, like Canyon Bakehouse or Schär.
If you are interested in how cross-contamination affects gluten-free flour at home, our guide on gritty texture in gluten-free baking covers some of the practical steps for keeping your own kitchen safe.
Frequently asked questions
Is Sam's Choice gluten-free bread safe for celiac disease?
Sam's Choice gluten-free bread is GFCO certified, meaning ingredients and finished loaves test under 10 ppm and the manufacturer is audited. That is the strictest common standard in the US and is considered safe for celiac disease. Walmart does not disclose whether it is made in a dedicated gluten-free facility; if that matters to you, Canyon Bakehouse, available at the same Walmart, names its dedicated bakery.
Is Great Value gluten-free bread GFCO certified?
No. Great Value's gluten-free products are certified through the Beyond Celiac Gluten-Free Certification Program, a third-party program that verifies the FDA's under-20 ppm standard. Sam's Choice is the Walmart store brand with GFCO certification.
Which Walmart gluten-free bread tastes best?
Taste is subjective, but Canyon Bakehouse Heritage Style loaves consistently get the best reviews for texture and flavor among Walmart's gluten-free bread options, and some reviewers rate Sam's Choice as the best store-brand gluten-free bread they have tried. Sam's Choice Multigrain has more flavor than the Classic White because of its sorghum, millet, and seed blend. All of them taste better toasted than at room temperature.
Why is gluten-free bread at Walmart so expensive compared to regular bread?
Gluten-free bread costs more because of specialty ingredients (brown rice flour, tapioca starch, xanthan gum, eggs), smaller production runs, and third-party testing and certification. Sam's Choice at about $0.37/oz is roughly five times the cost of Great Value wheat sandwich bread, which sells for $1.39 for 20 oz, about $0.07/oz.
Can I freeze Walmart gluten-free bread to make it last longer?
Yes, and you should once a loaf is opened. Gluten-free bread stales faster than wheat bread because it lacks gluten's moisture-retention network. Freeze opened loaves and toast slices directly from frozen. This preserves texture far better than refrigerating or leaving it on the counter. Most gluten-free breads hold well in the freezer for 2–3 months. For more on why gluten-free baked goods go stale quickly, see our guide on quick staling in gluten-free baking.

Written by
Co-founder, BakingSubs
Co-founder of BakingSubs, where he turns the science of ingredient substitutions into tested, reliable guidance for home bakers.
Related Posts
Bake with Confidence
See allConfident Gluten-Free Baker Toolkit
The science-based system that replaces gluten's seven invisible jobs so your baking turns out soft, fluffy, and foolproof — every time.
Gluten-Free Recipe Vault
Instant access to our complete library of proven gluten-free recipes — no waiting, no guesswork, just results that work tonight.
Fix Your Gluten-Free Bread
Learn the 3-step formula to make bread rise and stay soft, discover why your loaves collapse, and get a tested sandwich bread recipe that actually works.


