Best Low Carb Bread Brands (2026): 8 Compared by Net Carbs, Ingredients, and Price

We compared 8 low carb bread brands on net carbs, protein, fiber, ingredients, and price. Most contain wheat gluten — here's what the labels actually say.

Malik's profile picture
Author

Malik

Date
September 28, 2026
12 min read
SHARE

The best low carb bread brands in 2026 are Hero Bread, Sola, Carbonaut, ThinSlim Foods, Franz Keto, Lewis Bake Shop, and Aldi L'Oven Fresh — all delivering 0–2 g net carbs per slice. But nearly every one relies on wheat gluten for structure, which matters if you have celiac disease or a wheat allergy. Here is how they compare on the numbers that actually matter.

Key takeaways

  • Most keto breads hit 0–1 g net carbs per slice by replacing standard flour with resistant starch, wheat protein isolate, or vital wheat gluten — then packing in fiber from oat, psyllium, or chicory root sources.
  • 7 of the 8 brands in this roundup contain wheat gluten. Base Culture is the only fully gluten-free option, but it runs about 4 g net carbs and 110 calories per slice.
  • "Net carbs" is not an FDA-defined term. Brands calculate it as total carbs minus fiber minus sugar alcohols, but partially digestible fibers like chicory root may add 1–2 effective carbs that the label does not show.
  • Aldi L'Oven Fresh is the clear budget pick at roughly half the price of premium brands, while Hero Bread sits at the premium end.
  • Keto bread typically delivers about 2x the protein and 4x the fiber of regular bread, with roughly 50% fewer calories per slice.
  • Dave's Killer Bread Thin-Sliced (12 g net carbs per slice) is sometimes marketed alongside these brands, but it is a standard wheat bread with thinner slices — not a reformulated low-carb product.

Low carb bread brands comparison table

This table covers per-slice nutrition from manufacturer labels or verified retailer listings. All figures are per single slice unless noted. Brands are sorted by net carbs, then by calories.

Brand & varietyNet carbsCaloriesProteinFiberFirst 3 ingredientsContains wheat gluten?Price tier
Hero Classic White0 g455 g11 gWater, resistant wheat starch, wheat proteinYesPremium
Sola Deliciously Seeded0 g—4 g9 gNot confirmed from primary labelYesMid-range
Sola Sweet & Buttery0 g404 g9 gWater, modified wheat starch, wheat glutenYesMid-range
ThinSlim Foods Plain0 g*457 g7 g (total carbs)Wheat protein isolate, vital wheat gluten, oat fiberYesMid-range
Franz Keto White0 g404 g12 gModified wheat starch, wheat gluten, inulin/chicory fiber (bread base)YesMid-range
Aldi L'Oven Fresh Keto0 g354 g10 gWater, modified wheat starch, wheat protein isolateYesBudget
Hero Seeded1 g606 g12 gWater, resistant wheat starch, wheat proteinYesPremium
Carbonaut Original1 g707 g—Water, wheat protein, resistant tapioca/potato starchYesMid-range
Lewis Bake Shop Keto0 g356 g8 gWater, resistant wheat starch, wheat proteinYesMid-range
Base Culture Original Keto4 g1104 g4 gWater, eggs, almond butterNo (gluten-free)Premium

*ThinSlim Foods lists 0 g net carbs, but the bread contains chicory root fiber, which is partially digestible. One analysis suggests the effective net carb count may be closer to 1–2 g per slice.

Hero Seeded Bread — Delicious Bread with 1g Net Carb, 0g Sugar, 60 Calories, 12g Fiber per Slice | Tastes Like Regular Bread | Low Carb & Keto Friendly Bread Loaf —15 Slices/Loaf, 2 Loaves
Best Overall

Hero Seeded Bread — Delicious Bread with 1g Net Carb, 0g Sugar, 60 Calories, 12g Fiber per Slice | Tastes Like Regular Bread | Low Carb & Keto Friendly Bread Loaf —15 Slices/Loaf, 2 Loaves

Check price on Amazon →

How we ranked these

We ranked these brands on five verifiable criteria, all drawn from manufacturer labels, retailer listings, and published nutritional data — not from taste tests or kitchen experiments:

  1. Net carbs per slice — lower is better, with a flag for brands using partially digestible fibers that inflate the "zero" claim.
  2. Protein and fiber per slice — both matter for satiety and for how the bread holds up as a sandwich.
  3. Ingredient transparency — whether the first three ingredients are clearly identifiable and whether the brand discloses allergens.
  4. Wheat gluten disclosure — because roughly 3 million Americans have celiac disease (FDA), and most keto breads are not safe for them.
  5. Price tier — budget, mid-range, or premium, based on available list prices and retailer comparisons.

We did not rank on taste, texture, or personal preference. Where manufacturers make texture claims, we note them as manufacturer claims.

Why almost every keto bread contains wheat gluten

If you are following a keto diet and also need to avoid gluten, the options narrow dramatically. Here is why.

Standard bread gets its structure from gluten — the protein network in wheat flour that traps gas and creates a soft, elastic crumb. When a manufacturer removes conventional flour to cut carbs, they lose that structure. The solution nearly every brand uses is to add the gluten back in concentrated form: vital wheat gluten, wheat protein isolate, or wheat protein.

The only brand in this roundup that avoids wheat gluten entirely is Base Culture, which is built on eggs, almond butter, almond flour and flaxseed instead. The trade-off is higher calories (110 per slice vs. 35–70 for wheat-gluten-based brands) and higher net carbs (4 g). If you need certified gluten-free bread, our gluten-free bread brands list covers 18 options compared by texture, ingredients, and price.

Brand-by-brand breakdown

Hero Bread — best overall on paper

Hero Bread's Classic White delivers 0 g net carbs, 45 calories, and 5 g protein per 30 g slice. The Seeded version bumps up to 1 g net carb, 60 calories, and 6 g protein per 37 g slice — with 12 g of fiber.

The key to Hero's carb count is resistant wheat starch, which is classified as dietary fiber because it is not fully broken down during digestion. The full ingredient list for Classic White reads: water, resistant wheat starch, wheat protein, vegetable oil (canola in retailer listings; Hero's current page highlights olive oil), milled flaxseed, yeast, and less than 2% of vinegar, salt, fava bean protein, guar gum, cultured wheat flour, wheat flour, enzymes, monk fruit extract, ascorbic acid, sorbic acid, and sunflower lecithin. No sugar alcohols.

Wheat gluten alert: Hero contains wheat protein, resistant wheat starch, wheat flour, and cultured wheat flour. It is not safe for anyone with celiac disease or a wheat allergy. Its ingredient list makes clear it is not gluten-free.

Hero is available in over 700 Walmart locations as of October 2025 and falls in the premium price tier — expect to pay more per loaf than most competitors.

Who should buy this: Anyone on keto or low-carb who wants the lowest net carb count and does not need to avoid wheat.

Who should skip it: Anyone with celiac disease, wheat allergy, or on a budget.

Sola Bread — Non-GMO with multiple flavors

Sola's sliced breads include Sweet & Buttery, Deliciously Seeded, and Sweet Oat. Sweet & Buttery claims 0 g net carbs, 40 calories, 9 g fiber and 4 g protein per slice; Sweet Oat is listed at 1 g net carb.

Sola is labeled Non-GMO and states it uses no artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives. The fiber blend includes pea, potato, bamboo, psyllium husk, oat, and citrus fiber — a wider mix than most competitors. If you bake with psyllium husk yourself, you will recognize it as one of the most effective fiber-and-structure agents in low-carb formulations.

Wheat gluten alert: Sola is described as a wheat-protein loaf. It contains wheat gluten and is not gluten-free.

According to Sola's FAQ, the bread stays fresh for up to 45 days at room temperature and up to a year frozen; it is frozen after baking for transport to some retailers.

Carbonaut Original — highest protein per slice

Carbonaut Original delivers 1 g net carb, 70 calories, and 7 g protein per slice — the highest protein count in this roundup. The first three ingredients are water, wheat protein, and resistant tapioca and/or resistant potato starch.

The full ingredient list also includes flax meal, high oleic sunflower oil, wheat and/or bamboo fiber, yeast, psyllium, inulin, cultured wheat starch, pea fiber, salt, citric acid, and sesame flour. Allergens: wheat and sesame. Certifications include Keto Certified, Plant Based Certified, and Non-GMO Project Verified.

Wheat gluten alert: Wheat protein is the second ingredient. Not safe for celiac.

Carbonaut is sold across the US and Canada (including Walmart, Target and Sprouts) and also makes bagels and buns. The brand also offers a separate gluten-free seeded bread line for those who need it. Carbonaut's FAQ gives a 10-day shelf life and up to 6 months in the freezer.

Note: Carbonaut's own product page lists 1 g net carb, while at least one secondary source lists 2 g. This may reflect a formula update. Check the current package label.

ThinSlim Foods — the one to read the label twice

ThinSlim Foods Love-the-Taste Plain claims 0 g net carbs with 7 g total carbs per slice, 45 calories, and 7 g protein. The first three ingredients are wheat protein isolate, vital wheat gluten, and oat fiber — two concentrated wheat proteins lead the label.

The full ingredient list includes modified wheat starch, flaxseed meal, olive oil, chicory root, yeast, salt, and apple cider vinegar. No sugar alcohols.

The chicory root caveat: Chicory root fiber (inulin) is partially digestible. While the label counts it entirely as fiber, the effective net carb impact may be 1–2 g per slice rather than zero. If you are tracking carbs precisely for medical reasons, this is worth noting.

Wheat gluten alert: Contains both wheat protein isolate and vital wheat gluten. Not gluten-free.

The bread is shelf-stable and sold in 14 oz loaves, available at Walmart and online.

Franz Keto White — the grocery-store staple

Franz Keto White Bread comes in at 40 calories, 12 g total carbs (all counted as fiber), 4 g protein, and 0 g net carbs per slice. Key ingredients include wheat gluten for protein and inulin/chicory root fiber.

Wheat gluten alert: Yes, contains wheat gluten.

Like ThinSlim, the chicory root fiber in Franz means the "0 g net carbs" claim may be slightly optimistic. Franz is widely available in grocery stores across the western United States.

Lewis Bake Shop Keto — tied for lowest calorie option

At 35 calories and 0 g net carbs per 28 g slice (9 g total carbs, 8 g fiber) with 6 g protein, Lewis Bake Shop's Better Way Keto Bread ties Aldi for the lowest calorie count here. Its ingredients include allulose and chicory root fiber. The brand also makes a Hawaiian Keto variety.

Wheat gluten alert: The first ingredients are water, resistant wheat starch, and wheat protein. Not gluten-free.

Aldi L'Oven Fresh Keto — best budget pick

Aldi's L'Oven Fresh Keto Friendly Bread hits 0 g net carbs (10 g total carbs, 10 g fiber) with 35 calories and 4 g protein per slice. Key fiber ingredients are oat fiber, wheat bran, and inulin. If you already shop at Aldi for their liveGfree line, you will find this in the same bread aisle.

Aldi Reviewer reported a price of $4.19 per 14 oz loaf in 2025, making it the clear budget pick.

Wheat gluten alert: The ingredients include modified wheat starch, wheat protein isolate, wheat bran, and wheat gluten. Not gluten-free.

Base Culture Original Keto — the only gluten-free option

Base Culture is the outlier in this roundup. It is built on eggs, almond butter, almond flour, and flaxseed instead of wheat gluten, making it the only genuinely gluten-free keto bread here. The trade-off is significant: 110 calories per slice and 4 g net carbs — well above the 35–70 calories and 0–1 g net carbs of the wheat-based competitors. It contains egg and almond.

If you need both low-carb and gluten-free, Base Culture is worth considering alongside the options in our best gluten-free bread roundup. For bakers who want to make their own, our guide to low carb flour alternatives for bread covers 7 flour options including almond and coconut flour.

The "0 g net carbs" claim: what it actually means

The FDA has never defined "low-carb" as a nutrient content claim, and "net carbs" does not appear in FDA labeling regulations. A citizen petition to define low-carb claims was filed during the early 2000s diet surge, but no final rule was ever issued.

The net carb formula — total carbs minus fiber minus sugar alcohols — is an industry convention, not an FDA standard.

This matters because not all fibers behave the same way in your body. Resistant wheat starch (used by Hero) and cellulose-based fibers pass through largely undigested. But chicory root fiber (inulin), used by ThinSlim Foods and Franz, is partially fermented in the gut and may contribute 1–2 g of effective carbohydrates that the label does not reflect. If you are managing blood sugar for medical reasons, this distinction is worth discussing with your doctor.

For more on how sugar alternatives and sweetener labeling work in baking, our learn section breaks down the functions and trade-offs.

Hero Bread vs. Sola vs. Carbonaut: head-to-head comparison

These three brands are the most widely available and frequently compared. Here is how they stack up on verifiable specs:

CriteriaHero Classic WhiteSola Sweet & ButteryCarbonaut Original
Net carbs/slice0 g0 g1 g
Calories/slice454070
Protein/slice5 g4 g7 g
Fiber/slice11 g9 gNot confirmed
Sugar alcoholsNoneNone listedNone
Keto certifiedNot statedNot confirmedYes
Non-GMONot statedYesYes
Contains wheat glutenYesYesYes
Gluten-free version availableNoNoYes (separate line)
Price tierPremiumMid-rangeMid-range
Shelf life (room temp)Not confirmed45 days10 days
Freezer lifeNot confirmedUp to 1 yearUp to 6 months

The verdict by the numbers: Hero wins on lowest net carbs and calories. Carbonaut wins on protein. Sola wins on shelf life and flavor variety. If you want a gluten-free option from the same brand, Carbonaut is the only one of the three that offers a separate gluten-free line.

Who should buy keto bread (and who should skip it)

Who should buy

  • Keto dieters who miss sandwiches — at 0–1 g net carbs per slice, two slices still fit comfortably within a 20 g daily carb budget.
  • People managing blood sugar — keto bread contains far less digestible carbohydrate than regular bread, so it should cause a smaller blood sugar rise. That said, the partially digestible fiber caveat applies.
  • Anyone cutting calories — at 35–70 calories per slice vs. 80–120 for regular bread, the savings add up over a week.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone with celiac disease or wheat allergy — 7 of 8 brands here contain wheat gluten. The FDA defines "gluten-free" as less than 20 ppm gluten, and these products are far above that threshold. See our best gluten-free bread mix brands for celiac-safe alternatives you can bake at home.
  • Bakers who want to make their own — if you would rather control the ingredients, our guide to gluten-free bread flour and lupin flour as a low-carb substitute will get you started.
  • People who assume "0 g net carbs" means zero metabolic impact — it does not. Fibers are fermented to varying degrees, and the label math is a simplification.

A note on Dave's Killer Bread Thin-Sliced

Dave's Killer Bread Thin-Sliced 21 Whole Grains and Seeds shows up in some "low carb bread" lists, but it does not belong in the same category. At roughly 12 g net carbs per slice, it is a standard wheat bread that achieves a lower carb count simply by cutting thinner slices — not by reformulating the recipe. Two slices would use up 24 g of carbs, which exceeds most keto daily limits on its own. It is a fine bread, but calling it "low carb" is misleading when brands in this roundup deliver 0–1 g per slice.

Worked example: daily carb budget with keto bread

Say you are following a standard keto diet with a 20 g daily net carb limit. Here is what a sandwich costs you with each brand:

  • Hero Classic White: 2 slices x 0 g = 0 g net carbs, 90 calories
  • Carbonaut Original: 2 slices x 1 g = 2 g net carbs, 140 calories
  • Base Culture: 2 slices x 4 g = 8 g net carbs, 220 calories
  • Dave's Killer Bread Thin-Sliced: 2 slices x 12 g = 24 g net carbs — over your entire daily budget

The difference between Hero and Dave's is 24 g of net carbs per sandwich. That is not a marginal difference — it is the difference between staying in ketosis and not.

Frequently asked questions

Is keto bread gluten-free?

Almost never. The vast majority of commercial keto breads — including Hero, Sola, Carbonaut, ThinSlim Foods, Franz, and Lewis Bake Shop — use vital wheat gluten or wheat protein isolate as a primary structural ingredient. Base Culture is the notable exception, using eggs, almond butter, almond flour, and flaxseed instead. If you have celiac disease, the FDA defines gluten-free as less than 20 ppm gluten, and wheat-gluten-based keto breads are far above that threshold.

Does 0 g net carbs really mean zero carbs?

Not exactly. "Net carbs" is calculated as total carbs minus fiber minus sugar alcohols, but this is an industry convention — the FDA has never defined it. Some fibers used in keto bread, particularly chicory root fiber (inulin), are partially digestible and may contribute 1–2 g of effective carbohydrates that the label does not reflect. Resistant wheat starch, used by Hero Bread, is less digestible and closer to a true zero.

What is the cheapest low carb bread brand?

Aldi L'Oven Fresh Keto Friendly Bread is the clear budget winner, reported at $4.19 per 14 oz loaf in 2025. Sola sits in the mid-range and Hero in the premium tier.

Can you freeze keto bread?

Yes, and for some brands it is practically required. Carbonaut's FAQ gives a 10-day shelf life and up to 6 months frozen. Sola says its bread lasts up to 1 year in the freezer or 45 days at room temperature.

Why is keto bread so high in fiber?

Manufacturers replace the starch in regular flour with fiber sources — oat fiber, psyllium husk, resistant wheat starch, chicory root, bamboo fiber, and others — to maintain bulk and structure without the digestible carbohydrates. This is why keto bread typically delivers about 4x the fiber of regular bread per slice. The high fiber also helps the math: since net carbs subtract fiber from total carbs, more fiber means a lower net carb count on the label. For a deeper look at how low carb flour alternatives work in bread, we break down 7 options and their trade-offs.

Sources

SHARE
Malik

Written by

Malik

Co-founder, BakingSubs

Co-founder of BakingSubs, where he turns the science of ingredient substitutions into tested, reliable guidance for home bakers.